27.9 C
New York
Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Anwar Hussain Shaik named as new chair of a WTO committee; first Indian representation in 10 years | International Business News – Mrit News

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: After a gap of ten years, an Indian government officer — Anwar Hussain Shaik — has been made the chair of the WTO’s committee on Technical Barriers on Trade, an official said. He will take this role from Elisa Maria Olmeda de Alejandro from Mexico. “Our officer posted in PMI (Permanent Mission of India) Geneva has been made the chair of this TBT committee. Last time an Indian was a chair was ten years back,” the official said. The Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT) Agreement aims to ensure that technical regulations, standards and conformity assessment procedures are non-discriminatory and do not create unnecessary obstacles to trade.

TBT Committee work involves two broad areas — review of specific measures and strengthening implementation of the TBT Agreement.

WTO (World Trade Organisation) members use this committee to discuss specific trade concerns, specific laws, regulations or procedures that affect their trade, usually in response to notifications. Also Read: China lockdowns may hamper Apple’s iPhone volumes: Report

WTO is a 164-member multilateral body which formulate rules for global exports and imports and adjudicates disputes between countries on trade-related issues.
India is a member since 1995. Also Read: Bucket selling for Rs 25,999 on Amazon leaves internet in splits, check hilarious responses

- Advertisement -

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles